Launched in 2011, Google+ has been anticipated to be the company’s response to Facebook with a number of similar capabilities. However, it didn’t gain much traction over the years. While Google+ will cease to exist from April 2, 2019, the firm now says it will start removing a few of the features as early as February 4. Google has summarized the timeline when and which attributes will be taken offline first and how Google+ users can download their information.
On a new service page posted on Monday, Google says from February 4 it will quit enabling users create brand new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events. This data will include author information, content body, and photos posted in a public community on Google+.
Google will delete all of consumer data. In case you archived videos and photos from Google+, then they’ll be deleted also. In the event you’ve got a good deal of data resting on Google+ servers, then be sure to download and save it nicely before April 2.
But, Google asserts the process of deleting consumer Google+ data are going to take a few months. Content posted on Google+ will remain visible during that time. The business says users may still have the ability to see activity logs and a few consumer Google+ articles may also be observable through G Suite.
On the brand new service page, Google still asserts the company had decided to kill Google+ because of low usage and”challenges involved in keeping a successful product.” However, a bug was discovered a year that exposed user data of 500,000 users. Google still maintains no programmer had exploited the vulnerability and the company hasn’t been able to find any misuse of this data.