Mozilla Firefox 66 Brings Default Autoplay Mute Feature, Firefox Send Tool Also Released

Aside from the bug fixes and functionality improvements, the newest version of Firefox 66 mutes autoplaying videos from default. Furthermore, Mozilla’s Web-based file-sharing support — Firefox Send — is currently widely accessible to all users on desktop computer and will also be made available as a beta program on Android soon. The company is also working on a brand new browser named Firefox Fenix that is currently in the development stage.

Starting with Firefox 66, Mozilla has started the rollout of the steady Firefox 66 construct for desktop (Linux, macOS, and Windows) along with Android. The most noteworthy feature introduced with the new version of the Firefox browser will be the ability to block autoplaying videos from default on both the desktop and mobile versions of this app. However, users may still to choose to opt out of this feature and disable it. Firefox 66’s rollout for desktop customer is apparently being performed in a staged fashion and it is anticipated to reach all customers soon. On the flip side, Firefox 66’s stable version for Android is now available widely and may be downloaded out of APKMirror.

Furthermore, Mozilla’s Web-based Firefox Send service for sharing files is now out of beta and is now accessible to all users. Firefox Send is a totally free, end-to-end encrypted file transfer service that supports file sharing over different browsers. Additionally, it allows users to specify when the document sharing connection expires and also lets them add an extra layer of security by protecting files with a password. Mozilla has shown that Firefox Send will be made available as a beta app for Android later this week.

Last, Mozilla is working on a new mobile browser named Firefox Fenix that’s currently under the development phase and can be accepting code entries on Github. The Firefox Fenix browser has been designed for Android and provides a publication tab management system named Sessions. Once users close the app, all tabs are closed and they don’t surface again once users re-open the browser. Instead, users can pick up any of Session cards to restart browsing or choose to start new tabs altogether.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here